Home / How Government Works / Federal / U.S. Representatives

About the U.S. House of Representatives:

The Lower chamber of congress is called the House of Representatives. House seats are proportionate to their population that is reported after the decennial Census. There are 435 representatives in the House that serve their respective congressional districts. Arizona has 9 congressional districts. Each representative is elected to a 2-year term. Representatives have the responsibility of introducing bills and resolutions, offering amendments, and serving on committees. House leadership consists of the speaker, majority and minority leaders, assistant leaders, whips, and a party caucus or conference. There are 20 standing committees in the house.

Additional Information