Home / How Government Works / Countywide Offices / Superior Court Judge

About the Superior Court Judge:

Every county in Arizona has at least one Superior Court Judge. In the counties that have more than one Superior Court judge because of a large population, the county is divided into divisions where the Superior Court holds authority over that division. The Superior Court acts as the court of appeals for municipal and justice courts. In addition to appeals from lower courts, the Superior Court generally rules on matters including but not limited to: property crimes, wills, naturalizations, and divorces. The Superior Court also has original jurisdiction where another court is not designated authority. Superior Court judges serve four-year terms. There are now more than 100 Arizona Superior Court judges, most of them are in Maricopa and Pima counties. Currently, Superior Court judges are elected in nonpartisan elections in every county except Coconino, Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal.

Additional Information